Education Background

  • 2007.09-2011.07 Tianjin University, B.Eng.
  • 2011.08-2015.08 Vanderbilt University, Ph.D.


  • 2015.06-2017.09 Sandia National Laboratories (USA), Postdoctoral Researcher
  • 2017.09-2018.03 Intellectual Ventures (USA), Metamaterials Scientist
  • 2018.03-2018.06 Department of Precision Instrument, Tsinghua University, Visiting Scholar
  • 2018.07-present Department of Precision Instrument, Tsinghua University, Associate Professor

Research field

Nanophotonics、Optoelectronic Devices、Nonlinear Optics

Research survey

Research Interests:
• Extreme nonlinear optics in the nanoscale
• Optical phased array & Lidar

Honors, Awards, and Synergistic Activities:
• Thousand Talent Program for Young Researchers, China, 2018
• Forbes China 30 under 30 (in Science), 2018
• Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad, 2013
• Founder and President of Optical Society of America Student Chapter at Vanderbilt University, 2013-2014
• Referee for 10+ international journals
• Member of OSA, SPIE, and MRS

Selected Publications:
1. Y. Yang, K. Kelley, E. Sachet, S. Campione, T. S. Luk, J-P. Maria, M. B. Sinclair, and I. Brener, “Femtosecond optical polarization switching with a cadmium-oxide-based perfect absorber”, Nature Photonics, 11, 390 (2017)
2. Y. Yang, W. Wang, A. Boulesbaa, I. Kravchenko, D. Briggs, A. Puretzky, D. Geohegan and J. Valentine, “Nonlinear Fano resonant dielectric metasurfaces”, Nano Letters, 15, 7388 (2015)
3. Y. Yang, I. Kravchenko, D. Briggs and J. Valentine, “All-dielectric metasurface analogue of electromagnetically induced transparency”, Nature Communications, 5753 (2014)
4. Y. Yang, W. Wang, P. Moitra, I. Kravchenko, D. Briggs and J. Valentine, “Dielectric meta-reflectarray for broadband polarization conversion and optical vortex generation”, Nano Letters 14, 1394 (2014)
5. P. Moitra†, Y. Yang†, Z. Anderson, I. Kravchenko, D. Briggs and J. Valentine, “Realization of an all-dielectric zero-index optical metamaterial”, Nature Photonics 7, 791 (2013) (†: co-first author)